Instagram is rolling out a new feature that should help you manage your content. From now on, your deleted posts will be saved for a while so that you can restore them. This is useful in case your change your mind, or if your account gets hacked and the hackers delete your content.
Instagram writes that this feature is something users have been asking for. So, now it lets you review and restore any content that has been deleted over the past month.
So, how does it work? It’s similar to the photos you delete from the gallery on your phone. Anything you delete will not automatically be permanently removed. Instead, it will sit in a new Recently Deleted folder and you’ll be able to restore anything within 30 days. This includes photos, videos, reels, and IGTV videos that you remove from your account. If you delete Stories before they expire, they will also be moved to this folder, but they will be available to restore for 24 hours.
You can access the Recently Deleted folder and all its content by going to Settings > Account > Recently Deleted. From there you can choose to restore it or delete it for good.
Along with this feature, Instagram writes that they’ve also “added protections to help prevent hackers from compromising your account and deleting posts you’ve shared.” From now on, if anyone tries to delete content, they will be asked to verify that they’re the rightful account holder. I assume you’ll be asked to enter a password, but I wonder how this will work if a hacker has already accessed your account. I mean, if they did, it means that they know your credentials and they can type them in to “confirm” that they own the account. But maybe my assumption is wrong, so take this with a grain of salt anyway.
I personally don’t think I’ll find the Recently Deleted feature useful, as I’ve never ever thought “Oh I could bring that photo back.” It might be useful though if anyone decides to hack my account, but I hope it won’t happen.
So, what about you? Do you think you’ll find this new feature useful?