Sigma to announce two new 20mm and 24mm f/1.4 full-frame mirrorless lenses on August 8th

Tips & Techniques

Sigma has scheduled a “New Products Presentation” on their YouTube channel for August 8th at 21:00 Japan Standard time – which is 1pm UK time, 8am Eastern and 5am Pacific on the same date. Sigma hasn’t said what they’re expected to announce or how long it’ll take but it’s expected to be two new 20mm f/1.4 DG DN and 24mm f/1.4 DG DN Art series lenses.

We know by the designations in the leaked specs that they’re full-frame lenses, and according to leaked specs, both will be available for full-frame Sony E mount cameras. The leaked specs don’t specify that there’s an L mount version coming, they do list a separate “E-Mount version” for some specs, suggesting that will also come in L mount flavour.

There don’t appear to be any images of the upcoming lenses out in the wild yet, although pretty complete specs have leaked, courtesy of L-Rumors.

  • 20mm F1.4 DG DN Art
    Lens configuration: 17 elements in 15 groups (2 SLD glasses, 3 aspherical lenses)
    Number of aperture blades: 11 (circular aperture)
    Minimum shooting distance: 0.23m
    Maximum shooting magnification: 1: 6.1
    Filter Diameter: 82mm
    Size: φ87.8 x 111.2mm (E-mount version 113.2mm)
    Weight: 635g (E-mount version 630g)
    AF assist function
    MFL switch (MF lock)
    rear filter holder
    lens heater retainer
    152,900 yen including tax
  • 24mm F1.4 DG DN Art
    Lens configuration: 17 elements in 14 groups (1 SLD glass, 2 FLD glasses, 4 aspherical lenses)
    Number of aperture blades: 11 (circular aperture)
    Minimum shooting distance: 0.25m
    Maximum shooting magnification : 1: 7.1
    Filter diameter:
    72mm Size: φ75.7 x 95.5mm (E-mount version 97.5mm)
    AF assist function
    MFL switch (MF lock)
    rear filter holder
    lens heater retainer
    Weight: 520g (E-mount version 510g)

The only price suggestion is 152,900 yen for the 20mm f/1.4 DG DN Art which equates to around $1,160 or £950. Certainly not a budget lens but not ridiculously expensive, either, for such a wide aperture at that focal length, especially on full-frame. It’s interesting that they’re releasing two lenses this wide so close together, though.

[via L-Rumors]

Articles You May Like

Photography News: Sigma Sensor Rumor, Nikon Lens Price Raise
Sandmarc’s Cloud Diffusion Filter for iPhone Adds Ethereal Look to Footage
How to recreate the lighting setups for six scenes in Stranger Things 4
Xiaomi’s New Mijia Smart Glasses Have a 50MP Camera and 15x Zoom
The Panaluxe Smart Color Target Can Instantly Color-Match Any Scene

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.